An Apple A Day…


I can remember the first time my brother showed me an iPod.  He had been talking for a week or two about buying this device from a friend at school.  He claimed this thing could hold over 1,000 songs.  I couldn’t believe it.  There was no way.  Lo and behold, one week later he buys it.  He showed me it when he first got it and I was amazed at how this small, white, shiny brick could hold so many of my favorite titles.  The possibilities of playlists, endless.  I could go from 50 Cent to The Temptations in a matter of clicks, and if I ever got tired of one of those, I could immediately switch over to some Bon Jovi or Avril Lavigne.  The product just blew my mind.  I needed one.

Within a couple of years I received my first iPod. This one sleeker, smaller, shinier.  It had better technology and much more interesting features.  This thing was awesome.  Apple had me hooked right there.  Their products were created to look ahead of their time while keeping it simple and easy to use.  A device with less than 10 buttons had endless musical possibilities.  It was in 7th grade that the company as a whole really attracted my attention.  Already an advocate for its products, I became an advocate for the company and its direction.  Years of penny pinching and accumulating birthday and Christmas money left me with a nice lump of cash for a seventh grader.  I decided to put my money to work, and I invested in Apple (AAPL).  Now I am tied to this company in more than one way – as a customer and as a shareholder.

Years go by and I update my Apple products – new iPod, new Macbook, new iPhone.  I am now “Appled out” in gadgets, with all the world’s information at my fingertips.  If I had unlimited money I would probably own every product Apple owns.  I still love Apple and I can admit I have only liked it more and more every year.  I am satisfied with the quality of the products, the customer service, and the direction of where its technology is going.  It probably helps that I was able to watch my money grow as Apple grew, each month my return growing and growing.  

What about all of the questionable labor practices associated with Apple? Does that affect your opinion? I don’t think it does.  I can say with certainty I do not agree with the issues at hand and would like for them to be affectively taken care of, but I cannot go as far as to say it changes my opinion of the company in the grand scheme of things.  The products are almost too revolutionary and incredible to let news like that deter you from purchasing such advanced technology.  Not only that, but the company has grown so much over the years financially, it doesn’t seem to be too affected by the negative news of its labor practices.  Apple, by using its market-leading technology and superior products, has been able to attract me as a loyal customer, which in turn lead to being an investor in the company.  Apple and I have had a good relationship over the years, and I see this staying true.  There isn’t a single day that goes by that I don’t come in contact with an Apple product, and I am not mad about that.

3 thoughts on “An Apple A Day…

  1. It is interesting how we can forget about where our things come from because the company or their products are great. I can’t argue with you, I too have an iPhone, though it is interesting to think that buy continuing to buy and invest in Apple without voicing any concern we are propelling the problem.

  2. I absolutely agree that people are not very much affected by Apple’s questionable labor practices. You hit the nail on the head when you said that the products are too revolutionary and incredible for the news of questionable labor practices to deter consumers. That said, it is important to note that Apple is one of hundreds of companies engaging in these labor practices, along with competitors like Dell, HP, Sony, and Panasonic. If Apple was the only company taking advantage of cheap labor while its competitors were manufacturing in the United States, people might make more of an effort to purchase those manufactured here. However, if you’re looking to buy a Dell or Apple laptop for college, questionable labor practices will not stop a purchase from occurring. Wherever that laptop was made, you still need to be able to get your papers done.

  3. I can definitely relate to your last comments regarding apple technology, and how the products are too innovative to just turn away. Even after hearing the horrible conditions workers are facing in China, I haven’t thrown away my apple products or not considered buying new ones. The worker’s conditions are terrible, and the monologue Mr. Daisy preformed was definitely eye opening and had a huge impact on me. However, Apple definitely has “control” over us, in that when we hear these horrible stories about workers and their terrible working conditions many people still buy their products. I know that if a new revolutionary product were released, I would still consider buying it, even knowing what I do now.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

