Sweet Dreams, iPhone


I have this routine, you see. Every night after brushing my teeth, I get into bed and set three differently timed alarms for my morning wake up. It has become natural, an instinct even. I slide open the lock screen, type in my four-digit password, and flip to the second page of the home screen. By clicking the top right corner App, I access my “Utilities” category in order to get to the “Clock.” I never set an alarm ahead of time; it’s become part of my sleep routine for it gives me peace of mind.

Where is the logic in this? The Apple product is advanced enough that it allows you to preset alarms at different times for the days of the week – yet this is a capability I choose to overlook. After listening to Mr. Daisey’s monologue, I am concerned by my need to be in touch with my iPhone, an object, before I am able to rest. It’s as if once my phone knows I need to be up at a certain time, my brain registers that it can shut down to sleep. What does that say about me? Have most people adopted this same routine? Are people ditching their real alarm clocks for their smart phone because it can be tucked underneath their pillow? The realization that the thing I want close to me at the end of a long day is my iPhone, terrifies me – more than a little bit.

As I observe my peers at the computers in the library, I see that most of their iPhones are placed directly next to the mouse pad. How strange it needs to be out when the computer in front of them is the only thing they need in order to do their work.  Like me, with my phone snuggled up next to my pillow, it seems like everyone needs their phone to be in a certain spot in order to feel a sense of calm. The chances that an extreme circumstance will arise with only this iPhone as a way of necessary communication are very slim. This feeling of needing this object close to you at all times is unrealistic and a construct.  Even so, people like me are panicked when we cannot find our phones and given a sense of calm and reassurance when we know that our little iPhone is right there next to us. This week’s podcast and assignment forced me to question when this form of behavior became commonplace. Without my knowledge, my device has become the thing that puts me to sleep at night and gives me a thumbs up to go ahead and start that paper. I pose this question despite learning how some of Apple’s subcontractors treat their employees.  Why would I, and many others, be so attached to a brand that morally may be questionable? Yes it is wrong that this monster of a company does its best to hide these truths in its brand’s shadow. Yes of course, the treatment of these workers is unjust and they deserve way better treatment but I, and the rest of this consumerist society, have developed an attachment to my device and the label that created it.  I wish I could say that in recognizing this issue I want to detach myself from my iPhone but the attachment is to strong and I cannot severe the electrical umbilical cord that connects me to this artificial source of comfort.

 

5 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams, iPhone

  1. As I was reading your blog, I immediately turned around and saw everyone in the library with their iPhone’s out next to their mouse pad. Then I looked next to my mouse pad and saw my iPhone laying their as well. Why do we do this? Is it because we want to be constantly connected to something or someone? It’s because our iPhone has become our lives. I once lost mine for three days and it felt like I was a social outcast because I couldn’t get in touch with my friends electronically. But why couldn’t I call people from another phone? O, it’s because most houses around here don’t even have landlines anymore and nobody remembers anybody’s phone number at heart because it’s stored in our phone. It literally is our life now.

  2. It’s crazy to think how much we use our iPhones these days. I know exactly what you mean about having a routine; my iPhone fits in too. Before I fall asleep, I do a last email check on my phone, browse instagram, and set two alarms for the next morning. (For a non-morning person, two is necessary.) Like you, I think it would be hard to let go of my iPhone due to Apple’s questionable labor practices, but I wonder what (if anything) would make anyone in today’s society willing to “cut the cord”.

  3. Yes, of course we are attached to it! Is it because we love it? Not necessary. Perhaps it is because…it is more comfortable to take it out and out it on the table next to you. Why do we all use rounded wheels? Why not squared? Should you keep your iPhone in the pocket/purse and take it out every time there is a message/call, instead of just picking it from the table?
    Regarding the iPhone alarm “issue” – make sure nobody else…sets up his alarm clock 😉

  4. Pingback: iTruth: Truth. Lies, and Podcasts (Blog Prompt 3) | Biz Gov Soc 6

  5. Pingback: iTruth: Truth. Lies, and Podcasts (Blog Prompt 3) « Business, Government and Society VII

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

