Technology: An Unhealthy Addiction


When it comes to technology, I probably have the opposite feelings toward it as Mike Daisey. There are those people that as soon as a new iPhone is released, will be first in line at the store to pick up the two that they preordered: one to actually use, and the other to take apart and marvel at the beauty of the technology. Mike Daisey said he would take apart his MacBook Pro to soothe him after a long day at work. Seeing the inside of my laptop would probably just stress me out. The inner workings of my laptop are for the tech desk people at the library to look at and no one else.

My reluctance to indulge in the technology of the current time started at a young age. When the age of cell phones began, I became a firm believer that it was unnecessary to upgrade to new models all the time. This was and still is nothing but a scam to me. For the longest time I refused to get a cell phone that also had a camera on it. This was because I would feel bad that I wouldn’t be using my actual camera enough. Then came the age of texting. I believed it to be distracting and impersonal so didn’t get the texting feature activated on my phone until 10th grade (because at that point it was a struggle to stay social). As for facebook, I thought it was a passing fad and wasn’t worth the time that can be wasted on it. By 11th grade my friend got mad and finally just created an account for me herself. And then there were smartphones. Wow I really hated that creation! Those phones are simply an addiction. It was impossible to have a conversation with anyone without the constant interruption of some sort of notification. Also, if I were to buy an iPhone, then my camera AND my iPod AND my old perfectly good phone would go to waste. But now as a senior at Bucknell, I have finally entered the 21st century and purchased the iPhone. And in no way am I immune to its addictive powers.

Though I may be reluctant to buy these products at first, in the end I still buy them. And will I change now that I know the way they were created? Sadly, my answer is no. It’s true that I most likely will not change my purchasing behavior. But what is the big deal about technology anyway? In 5 years, all of these gadgets will be outdated and replaced. I’d rather just interact with friends in face to face situations, as opposed to virtually. Or just read a book (but oh wait, now I read my books on my kindle… another product that will need replacement in a few years). I wish I could just buy products that last. And yes, I feel bad about the suffering that goes into the production of these products: the long working hours, the child labor, the terrible working conditions. It was easier on my conscience when I believed, as did Mike Daisey, that everything was made on assembly lines by robots. I have always been reluctant before and still will be in the future to try the new products, but in every case I have relented. This is the nature of a person growing up in this age of technology. It’s an unhealthy addiction that will be forever fueled by our generation and generations to come.

One thought on “Technology: An Unhealthy Addiction

  1. I agree with your views on technology. I have a camera whose battery hasn’t been charged in a year and is collecting dust on my desk at home next to an old ipod in the same condition. Those devices work perfectly but I have the iPhone and therefore have no need for 2 separate objects when I can just have one. I too would love to walk around campus and be able to say hi to people and just enjoy the view. But everywhere you look people are on their phones or holding other devices while walking to class. This is due to the 21st century world we live in. People need instant gratification and desire to know everything the instant that it occurs. I wish we could solve the issues in these factories by eliminating some of these devices and get back to the simpler days but that is just unrealistic. Do you think society will ever slow down and revert back to books and real conversations or simply continue to speed up and become even more impersonal?

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

