Not responsible with electronic devices


I like to think of myself as a pretty low maintenance person in general. I don’t really follow fads. I don’t rush out to buy the newest and greatest products, gadgets, and gizmos. I don’t care that much about how much memory and processing speed and technical mumbo jumbo my electronics have. I just want something that works and I can learn to use quickly because quite frankly, I am an irresponsible technology owner. I have this terrible habit of misplacing, dropping, and pretty much destroying or losing any electronics I own in under 6 months. This is my biggest problem with technology.

So because I know that I will only spend a short time with my electronic devices, I am reluctant to spend money on them. I entered the world of Apple with the very first iPod shuffle. The one that looked like a stick of gum. Yes, that one. It held just over a hundred songs if I remember correctly. There was no LCD screen. I didn’t need that to listen to my own music on the school bus anyway. It was simple and that’s all I really cared about. I have since been through 4 or 5 different iPods after losing each one, but my newest device is still sitting on my nightstand waiting for my 2008 11″ white Macbook to find the newest software update before it will work. I should probably work on fixing that, but I have gone without an iPod for so long at this point it just doesn’t bother me all that much.

Of course the other technological area I  lagged behind in is the whole smartphone revolution. I hated the idea of smartphones, especially the iPhone. I thought to myself I already have a laptop, an iPod, and a cell phone, WHY do I need them all together? It was just so unnecessary. And expensive. But so useful. I finally gave in this year and now own a smartphone, but it was not entirely by choice. There’s no other options left in cell phone stores. And you have to buy the data plan anyway! I gave up my will and I have been consumed by my android ever since. My entire day was ruined when I lost it this weekend at work but I will never let it leave my side again. I am its slave.

6 thoughts on “Not responsible with electronic devices

  1. The last sentence had me laughing, I hope you don’t mind. I suppose technology is one of those, “You can run, but you can’t hide,” kind of deals. In your case there was good reason to run, seeing as though you knew that you were prone to losing such small items, yet you were only able to run for so long. Your post made me wonder about how we would be a few years down the line, who would be running from the new technology, why, and for how long will it be possible?

  2. I can relate to you a lot in certain senses. When I was younger, I was no where near someone who would be considered “technologically savvy” or “nerdy”. Therefore, when everyone around me started getting macbooks, iPhones, and the like I was in the back of the pack. I hated hanging out with my friends when they were just on their phones either checking scores, on facebook, or playing Angry Birds. It honestly just annoyed me and I wanted no part of it. Then, reality set in. I caved to the iPhone and now I cant go more than 5 minutes without it.

  3. I totally feel ya when it comes to being a slave, due to the fact that I am as well. However, even if you are a little tiny slave, there still is possibility to ease that feeling and have a little fun. What I’m trying to say, is that diving into the world of technology, even slightly, might lessen the feeling of uneasiness, as you understand it better.

  4. I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one that feels this way at times. Frank’s question is something to think about, as well what the consequences will be of newer and newer technologies. Will it liberate us or further entrap us? As advanced as the protection of our electronic information is, we can’t anticipate how the next hacker will find his way in. So in that way Shon, I can agree that learning and understanding more about technology can be comforting, but it can also be frightening to realize the possibilities of what we can really do with so much knowledge floating around with no way for us to escape.

  5. Just a thought I had when reading through your title: Does Apple’s exploitation overseas of workers make us more responsible with our devices, less responsible, or have no effect at all? Personally, it doesn’t affect the way I maintain my devices but thinking about it now, I feel like I will be more responsible with my devices considering how they were manufactured…

  6. Interesting post. I know how you feel, as I am also not one to be too worried about the new and upcoming technology. However, I got an iPad for Christmas and it doesn’t leave my lap. You kind of touch on this as well by saying it was so expensive and unnecessary, yet useful. This idea kind of prompts the idea that marketing itself creates unnecessary wants and desires that would not make economical sense for us to spend money on. Thinking of Apple specifically, they might do the best job of all companies at figuring out things that we want before we even know that we want them. Lastly, this “adapt or die” idea is interesting in your post regarding the purchase of a smartphone because there just aren’t other options.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

