Ric Elias – Enjoying Life


Ric Elias is a CEO of a marketing company, but that’s not why I think he should come to Bucknell.  After browsing videos related to more “academic” topics, I came across Ric’s short talk about his near-death experience on the plane that crash-landed in the Hudson River in January 2009.  While I haven’t been survived a plane crash, I have experienced something that has changed my outlook on life similar to how Ric’s outlook was changed.  I don’t expect any of you guys to share details in regards to some sort of life-changing experience, but I think it’s fair to assume we’ve all at least been humbled by something in our past that has made us grateful for our lives and the people around us.

 http://www.ted.com/talks/ric_elias.html

Ric says in the video that while he and his wife haven’t fought since his experience, he still isn’t perfect.  The stress of everyday life can make even the most fortunate people lose sight of the gift of life and the people we share it with.  While I still find myself stressed out from time to time, I think that’s human nature.  However, too often I see some of my good friends get way too caught up in silly arguments or school assignments, for that matter.  I don’t believe that it’s OK to just go through the motions in life and not work hard in anything – but on the other hand, I don’t think it’s OK to live your life stressed out all the time and not happy.  In other words, it’s good to find a balance!

At a prestigious university like Bucknell, with a lot of pressure from family and others to perform well in academics and athletics – all while staying out of trouble 😉 – I think a talk from Ric Elias would go a long way.  His insight might be a good change of pace from more traditional “academic” talks and I think his story would be very interesting to listen to.

To wrap things up, I also came across this video below on TED.  I had already seen it, but I feel like it kind of fits in with this whole theme of ‘making the most out of life’.  Not to mention it’s hilarious!

http://www.ted.com/talks/kid_president_i_think_we_all_need_a_pep_talk.html

 

 

9 thoughts on “Ric Elias – Enjoying Life

  1. Ric’s TED talk is still one of my favorites. He does such a good job of describing the state of being human, and I think Bucknell would benefit greatly by hearing this in person.

  2. I can definitely relate to your post. The concept of the “Bucknell Bubble” is definitely prevalent in most of our lives, and certainly mine. I constantly have to remind myself that I am not at Bucknell solely to earn an outstanding GPA, but to learn the most I can to prepare myself for my life outside our “bubble.” It is important to remember, in the grand scheme of things, that grades are not important, but instead the values, lessons, and experiences that we take with us when we graduate. I agree with you, that sometimes I need to put my stress in perspective and focus on what is truly important. I would love to hear Ric Elias’s story, and how it has made an impact on his life.

  3. I’m surprised I haven’t heard more about Ric Elias before just now. Those short five minutes of listening to him have made me a whole lot happier. It is so easy to lose sight of how good we have it here at Bucknell. All I seem to be worrying about these days is the looming threat of not having a job lined up after graduation or the next paper or test that is worth a huge percentage of my grade. I wish it were that easy to “eliminate negative energy” from my life. It’s something I should definitely focus more on. Thanks for showing me this video! I would love for him to come to campus so I can get more inspiration from him. Bucknell students are in need of a little bit of perspective.

  4. People forget everyday about the gift of life. I have seen people everyday care all about their work and that’s the central part of their lives. Life was given to us to enjoy it, not stress out everyday about whether we will close some big account or sign a big name client. Life is so supposed to be full of everyday surprises, that’s called living. I have never had a near death experience like the one Ric Elias had, but I’m sure it would open my eyes and make me not waste a single day ever again. I feel Ric Elias would be a very powerful speaker at Bucknell to help kids realize that people can enjoy themselves once they’ve entered the real world after college.

  5. I really like your outlook on why Ric would be a good fit for Bucknell. I completely agree that too many people get stressed out of work and assignments that are meaningless in the long scheme of things. Being at Bucknell is so much more than just academics. Its about growing as a person, building a network, and having fun. At the end of the day academics comes first but I think its more important to be able to balance academics with everything else you can get at Bucknell. If more people had that view point (not say I always hold true to it) everyone would be a lot happier. Hearing Ric talk about his life story could help influence our campus in that direction.

  6. I like the end of your post because I think it reveals a lot of truth about Bucknell. Yeah sure, Bucknell is this prestigious school where everyone comes from a nice neighborhood blah blah blah. But, the fact of the matter is that students at Bucknell face a lot of pressure. They face pressure from their parents, they know that a $200,000 investment has been placed on them before they are even able to drink, and they generally just worry about if they will live it up to what they are “supposed” to be. This is nonsense. I hate when people constantly worry about what everyone is thinking. This is why i think Ric would be a great speaker, however I would like to know a lot more about him before committing.

  7. Tremendous speech. Is it weird to say I’m jealous? I’m not jealous of his speech but jealous of his near death experience. He looks and sounds like the happiest guy on earth, all while recounting to an audience about how he just wished the plane would blow up rather than sink into the Hudson. Ric speech for whatever reason reminded me of Kerouac’s “Dharma Bums”, all about a beatnik’s journey to becoming a bodhisattva. The main character drifts around having adventure after adventure, studying scripture after scripture, meditating for hours, all to reach inner peace and happiness. Ric reminds me of the main character in a way, but, instead of having little fun adventures with other beatniks, Ric becomes enlightened in a horrible, sad instant.

  8. Have you guys also looked at the video at the bottom? I screwed up and didn’t embed them correctly. It’s a kid dressed as a president giving a great ‘pep talk’, if you will. One of the more uplifting and funny short videos I have seen in quite some time. Let me know what you think! Thanks for all the comments, too!

  9. Pingback: 2013 BGS Blogging Academy Awards | Biz Gov Soc 6

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

