Beyond the Bottom Line


As a senior, it has gotten to that point when I have been frequently reflecting on my college experience.  And while I have always loved Bucknell, it wasn’t until this year when I realized how much Bucknell has truly given me.  I could go on and on with my nostalgia, but enough of that will come over graduation weekend.  (I know, I just said the “G” word…yikes.)

With the “real world” right around the corner, I feel like I am constantly asked, “Are you excited” or “Are you ready?”  Okay, am I excited?  Yes and no.  Obvious reasons here, people.  Am I ready?  I sure hope so.  Scratch that.  Technically, I AM ready.  As a management major at Bucknell, I have been provided with all of the necessary tools and skills to be successful.  Group projects–>TEAMWORK.  Presentations and essays–>COMMUNICATION AND WRITING SKILLS.  Insanely-busy-google-calendar-filled-schedule–>TIME MANAGEMENT AND RESPONSIBILITY.

On Thursday, I attended the 1pm seminar focused on sustainability curriculum.  Rather than summarize the bullet points, I want to focus on the changes within the school of management.  Within the school of management, students have a wide range of required classes they are required to take while still allowing enough wiggle room for several electives as well.  With the exception of having to sit through two accounting courses (after discovering accounting was simply “not my thing”), I have truly enjoyed the opportunity to take such a variety of courses.  I have been able to find out what I like and what I don’t like, and I am now able to connect key concepts from different courses and apply them in internship and extracurricular settings.  However, I must say that I am BEYOND jealous of the students that are offered the four new curriculum options.  I like that all four of the programs have almost identical required courses (good to be fair), but I like the fact that students can pick a subject of interest to focus on from the get go.  It is important to have a foundation in areas like accounting, operations, marketing, and finance, but I think it is a little much to make students sit through two classes in a subject they don’t enjoy and/or isn’t a strong suit.  I really like the courses offered in each major along with the electives, and I believe that the structure of the major will help develop more of a passion for the subject matter.  Further, I was quite impressed that Bucknell thought to create a “Managing for Sustainability” major.  This is a unique curriculum that not many other universities can say they offer.

Unique and beneficial to society.  Sure, most people will say that all businesses care about is making money.  Not true.  Well, at least not true in all cases.  In recent years, it seems like companies are focusing on having top-notch ethical foundations, sustainable operations, going green, and social responsibility.  As I do not know the people leading these efforts, I can suspect this is happening for two reasons.  1) Corporate leaders truly care about its people, the environment, and acting ethically.  2) Corporate leaders realize that these phrases are “buzz words”.  They realize that these things not only benefit society but are also very marketable to consumers.  It takes quite a bit of digging to find out which applies to a given company.  The world of business is no longer solely about making money.  Think of companies like TOMs and Product Red—clear examples that there are far more important goals in some people’s minds.  Getting back to the point of this blog—the curriculum.  By having the opportunity to pursue a “Managing for Sustainability” major, I hope that students will realize their potential to make a difference (beyond the bottom line) post graduation in the real world.  We have the chance to enter the workforce and make the world a better place.  We can operate businesses better than we have in the past.  Still making money, but now while being more ethical, “green”, and sustainable.  Oh, and sorry for saying the “G” word a second time.

Remember this?

One thought on “Beyond the Bottom Line

  1. Pingback: Why Do We Exist? | Torching the Mundane

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

