Have We All Become Virtual Slaves?


Slave To Your cell Phone-Mobile Phone Addiction-Cell phone slaves-Technology slaves

So I decided to go a slightly different route with this blog post and instead of talking about one particular program I couldn’t live without, I will describe one particular device I cannot live without…

Growing up in the millennial generation, I, like most other members of society who are not stuck in the Stone Age, have become reliant on technology.  Everyday. I find myself glued to two of my possessions, my computer and my cell phone.  It is frightening to think what would happen if I suddenly was without either one of these devices.  However, out of the two I would have to say that my cell phone is slightly more important to me.

Everyday I use my cell phone to send text messages to individuals I have business with or to friends, with whom I would like to make plans.  Besides texting and calling, I also use my phone to check my email and even search the web if I am in a bind and cannot easily access my computer.  While I would rather not admit this, I am definitely 100% reliant on my phone in order to conduct my everyday life.  I almost feel naked without my cell phone (and I am sure I am not alone here).  It makes all forms of communication—email, text, phone calls—so easy to access and all in one place.  My phone keeps me informed and up to date in all areas of my life.  Whether I am emailing a professor, calling my parents, texting friends, or looking up an answer to a simple question using Google, all I have to do is whip out my cell phone and voilà problem solved.  So what would happen if cell phones were suddenly taken off the market?  The world would fall apart…okay, well, maybe not fall apart but it would certainly make accomplishing tasks much more difficult.  Individuals would also have to learn to use other forms of technology to accomplish the same tasks, and who has time for that anymore?

If I did not have a cell phone—a misfortune I have experienced before when I have either lost or broken a phone—I would feel completely cut off from the inner going-ons of my life.  Yes, I could use my computer to email people and search the web, but I would no longer have the convenience of being able to do such tasks on one device, wherever I am.  I would also be unable to call anyone, unless I used a landline (and goodluck finding one of those in the home of anyone under 25 now-a-days).  I would also be completely cut off from texting, as there is no other easy way, as far as I am aware of, to text from another device.  My normal lines of communication would be severed.

The average social life of a person in the 21st century has become dependent on texting.  I mean let’s be real here, when was the last time you called a friend of yours to ask a simple question or just to have a chat? While talking on the phone still happens, it is undeniable that most communication between members of my generation happens via text message.  I remember when I lost my phone for 4 days; it was like I had dropped off the face of the planet.  When I finally got a new phone and informed my friends, I was surprised at how many people responded with statements like “how has it been living in a hole?”  The sad fact is that this statement is actually pretty accurate.  Without my phone I had missed out on a lot of different events.  While I was lucky and had friends that I lived with that could keep me in the loop, not having my phone for those few days was a main hindrance to my social life.  Imagine what would have happened if I lived alone, then it really would have felt like I was living under a rock.

So I want to end this blog post with a couple of questions:  How much do you depend on your cell phone?  Do you agree that if you no longer had that device you would feel isolated, or would you be just fine?  The answers to this question will no doubt depend on whether or not the answerer is a millennial or not.  For example my mother still doesn’t really understand texting.  But for our generation, have we become so dependent on texting that without it we would feel cut off from the rest of our world?  What potential danger does this pose for the future of human relationships?

Are you addicted to your cell phone?  Here is a short 2 minute clip I found from ABC News that talks about cell phone addiction and how it can be just as bad as an addiction to drugs…

Sources:

http://www.standard.co.uk/incoming/article8502604.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/ecsImgphone-and-chain-65501.jpg (featured image)

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-EUpfz6GMkB8/UOpGNpd1B_I/AAAAAAAAAUU/VhxF9bHT66Q/s1600/Slave+To+Your+cell+Phone-Mobile+Phone+Addiction-Cell+phone+slaves-Technology+slaves.jpg (image in post)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvFc7bcaBMk (video)

5 thoughts on “Have We All Become Virtual Slaves?

  1. I personally depend on my cell phone way too much. I hardly ever use my laptop anymore outside of downloading and storing music. Literally, my cell phone is a computer. When I send e-mails, 80% it’s from my smartphone. It’s just way too handy and that’s why it has become a major part in all our lives. It’s small, fast, and very simple to use. I also really like your picture, I feel that represents a majority of people today who are literally glued to their phones. People are addicted to texting, addicted to random web surfing, addicted to random apps, etc. How did we get to this point? How did I? I know 2 years ago, I was never addicted like I am now. So what will the next 2 years be like?

  2. To answer your question, I definitely rely on my cellphone more than I should. It has come to the point where if I don’t have my cell phone, I fell almost vulnerable, because I would constantly be worrying that someone was trying to contact me and I was not able to respond (especially in emergency situations). And since almost everyone has their phones with them at all times, getting an immediate response is almost a requirement, and by not responding the person may think it is deliberate and read too much into it.

  3. #firstworldproblem
    “The average social life of a person in the 21st century has become dependent on texting. I mean let’s be real here, when was the last time you called a friend of yours to ask a simple question or just to have a chat?”

  4. Is addiction over-used as a word? Reliance and dependence are one thing… addiction to me means an obsession that perverts or corrupts the rest of your life.

    That said, I don’t see anyone writing posts like
    “Without my car, I would not be able to live. My whole life is totally dependent on the ability to go anywhere when I need or want to.”

    Or

    “Without clothes, I would feel naked.”

    Or

    “Without the Internet, I would feel so cut off from everything going on in the world.”

    Seriously. Is this technology different?

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

