No Smartphones …. Guess We’re F**KED


NoSignal

The world today is based around cellphones, and getting even more into, now around smartphones. I use it for everything. Calling, texting, social media, taking pictures, checking bank accounts, looking up stocks, playing games, using GPS, and hell, it’s even a flashlight. There are even more things it can do, but we don’t have the time to get into Siri and all that other stuff. What if one day all the cell towers went out and all mobile satellites came crashing to Earth. I would wake up to my alarm clock on my phone, another useful feature, to see my bars at 0 and my 3G non-existent. I would try to call my parents to see what would happen, but get no signal. I would look online to see to why there was no service, but it be out as well. I would look for a landline, only to laugh and realize, who the f**k has a landline phone nearby? What would I do? I remember last semester when I lost my phone for a week, it was like being a social outcast. I couldn’t get in touch with anyone and they couldn’t get in touch with me. In that week alone, I knew what not having a smartphone, or hell even any cell phone, was like. It was misery. When it was the weekend, I had to walk to their individual houses to see if anyone was around, which was the biggest pain in the ass in the world since we all live seperately. Now, if everyone lost their cell phones and smartphones entirely, it would be like going back to the 6th grade when kids didn’t have phones yet. I would have to call people using landlines, asking their parents if whoever was there, wait a few minutes while they were looking for them, only to get back, “Sorry, he’s not here, I think he went out somewhere.” That was hell. But, here at school, where there are no landlines anywhere, none in the dorms, fraternity houses, or downtown houses; how could I connect with everyone? People would literally not leave each others sides because they knew once they left someone, they were lost until you physically found them again. The social system would collapse. Bucknell would have to call all local phone companies and have landlines installed all over the campus, which sucks because I’m sure at one point they were. We have become so reliable on these devices that just the fact that I lost my smartphone, my life was completely changed. Thats absurd, but that’s the way our society is these days. We have become so reliant on these devices, that without them, we end up in total anarchy. Which is pretty ridiculous since we only had these devices for not even 10 years. All I know is, I experienced it once, and I hope I never have to again. (knock on wood)

Let’s just say the world would look something like this

6 thoughts on “No Smartphones …. Guess We’re F**KED

  1. The same thing happened to me freshmen year. It’s hard to believe that our parents actually functioned without cell phones when they were our age. I am the queen of last minute cancellations. If I did not have a cell phone and could not let people know if I was going to be late, I would probably have no friends at this point. Dinner plans, gym plans, going-out plans, are all made through cell phones or some sort of social media. It is crazy to think that this was not always the case.

  2. I found your post to be quite comical. I do believe that not having a cell phone is a huge hassle but that’s only because we have become so reliant on them that we can hardly function without one. OMG, what if I couldn’t check my texts, stocks, bank account, snap chat, facebook and whatever other apps I look at on a daily basis of every second of every day? It’s actually pretty nice. You should try it sometime.

    • That’s what my post is supposed to bring light to. The fact that we have become so reliant on these devices, it has changed and shaped our lives. When we get rid of them, our life goes back to when we were about ten years younger, and it’s a mess. So, how do we change it or are we too far gone that we can’t change it? Also, I can’t get away, it sucks too much.

  3. Your title is perfect for the situation you describe. I’m sure my initial reaction to losing or breaking my phone would include the “f bomb” as well. It would be annoying, at first glance, to not be able to communicate with people. But the true impact is way more than just that. For me, I would need to buy multiple alarm clocks, write to-do lists on sheets of paper (and not lose them), and would lose the ability to check Flyers game scores, news articles, etc. Not okay. I know I didn’t have a cell phone until 7th grade, but it’s gotten to the point when it would be much more of a pain to be without.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

