Say Goodbye to Our On-The-Go Lifestyles


I still remember the days when I had no cell phone.  The days when I would have to flip through my elementary and middle school address books to find my friends’ phone numbers.  The days when home phone was the primary way of reaching someone.  My how things have changed. 

Flash forward to today, in 2013.  Think about what forms of communication you utilized today, this past week, or this past month.  Facebook, email, texting, calling, instagramming, skyping, etc.  Our generation is the first to worry about what hash tags they should put under a photo, which photos are facebook appropriate, and how to text someone and sounding smooth while doing it.  However, has having all of these options made our lives more complex?  I thought about this question, and this led me to think of a scene in the chick flick “He’s Just Not That Into You”.  (Ladies, watch the movie.)

As you see on the page, the clip is entitled “Rejected by 7 Different Technologies”.  First of all, that feeling probably sucks.  Second, and more importantly, Drew Barrymore clearly demonstrates our reliance on all these different technologies.  It’s crazy how things can change in 10 or 15 years.  (Which leads me to wonder…what will things be like in 10 more years?!)

So let’s transition to a crazy idea: NO MORE CELL PHONES. (See below for potential reaction.)

jerrykingcell

Sh*t.  What does this mean for us?

  • This means you won’t be able to get a hold of someone via text and make plans within a matter of seconds, while at work or a meeting or at the library.  And, oh yeah, you definitely won’t have a read receipt; no more knowing if someone is ignoring you or not.
  • This means our stored address book no longer exists.  We have to start remembering our contacts in our heads.  You tell me: how many of your contacts could you memorize?
  • This means you have to get to a computer to check your email or facebook or apps like weather, stock ticker, LinkedIn, and whatever else you use on a daily basis.
  • Oh and further, this means that phone applications would definitely not exist either.  Say bye-bye to Instagram, Pic Stitch, Snapchat, and other favorites of yours.
  • This means you would see people at the gym with walkmans instead of their phones.
  • This means professors wouldn’t have to deal with ringtones going off or students focusing on phones instead of class.
  • This means I would have to ask people for directions when I get lost rather than find the route myself.
  • This means that “A” in Pretty Little Liars (can you tell I’m a fan?) would not be able to torment the four main characters.

    pretty-little-liars-new-text-cell-phone-meme_large

  • This means I would have to invest in an actual alarm clock.  I lied.  Many alarm clocks.

WHAT DOES IT MEAN FOR YOU?!

2 thoughts on “Say Goodbye to Our On-The-Go Lifestyles

  1. Great video! I like that movie and I think that it perfectly describes the era that we are in. technology has allowed us to connect with people in so many avenues that we often loose track of all of them and become confused. I also remember writing my friends’ home phone numbers in an phone book and memorizing a couple of my friends’ number. I would not be surprised if they did not sell address books anymore since everything is digitized. Now whenever people lose their phones or have to get a new one, they are in complete disarray. I remember my first cell phone. It was a big rectangle block and all it could do was call, text, and play snake. It is amazing to see the transformation of cell phones. Now they can do almost anything and are sleek and stylish. I can’t imagine what new technology will come out in the next generation.

  2. Great post, I wrote about the same situation. I remember when I broke my phone and was phone-less for a couple days. All of the situations you described are so true. You are totally left behind and felt like you are completely helpless. But at the same time, it is nice that you do not have to constantly be texting, checking emails, playing games. You really learn how to acknowledge the moment.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

