National Unfriend Day


Image

“Why are you so obsessed with me????”

“Homemade spinach balls! Im such a good little chef lol #girlswhocook” (with picture of what I’m assuming are “spinach balls” attached)

“You can see my brown eyes ever since you said goodbye” (with selfie picture attached)

The above are Facebook statuses from a girl who I met once in high school who was two years younger than me. Now, five years later, I receive these status updates from her on a daily basis. I have talked to her maybe three times in my life and have had no interaction with her since I was a senior in high school. And yet, we are friends on Facebook, with the same Facebook standing I am in with some of my closest friends at Bucknell as well as my family. I suppose the real question then is: Why haven’t I unfriended her?

Before I give any sort of answer to that question, let me give a brief overview of my history on Facebook. I was relatively late to the game. Virtually all of my friends had an account and I felt pressured to join or become socially obsolete for the rest of my life. I was a sophomore in high school when I created a profile. It was during the next few months where I was engaged the most with Facebook. When I say engaged, I mean posting, commenting, and actually using the site as opposed to just being on it. After those first few months, however, I found myself logging on just to see what other people were posting. That was the main draw for me – seeing what was going on with other people in their lives (sounds a little creepy, I know). Especially after coming to college, seeing what my classmates from high school were up to was interesting and at times entertaining. I’m at the point now where I’ll post the occasional picture but I mostly go on to see what other people are posting.

Going back to my question from above, the truth is that I really don’t have an answer. I guess I kind of enjoy reading her statuses every once in a while when they show up on my mini feed. After all, they are pretty amusing. I find myself laughing out loud at the fact that she posts such ridiculous things on Facebook. I feel like she’s just trying to get attention (which I suppose is working if I’m taking 5 seconds out of my day to read her post). I feel that if I deleted her as a friend, I would have to go through everyone on Facebook that I’m not actually friends with and delete them too. That would surely leave me with under 100 friends. And that would be weirder than having her as a friend in the first place…

For those like myself who have a tough time deleting Facebook friends, luckily we can turn to Jimmy Kimmel. Apparently, last November 17th was the third annual “National Unfriend Day,” or “NUD” for short. What holiday is that you ask? It’s that wonderful time of year where you chuck your annoying Facebook friends. Last year, Kimmel developed a point system for letting people know who they should unfriend. For instance, posting a photo of a sunset is an 8-point deduction. As Kimmel so elegantly put it, “half of the people in the country are on Facebook, and many of those people have hundreds if not thousands of ‘friends’ – and I find this unacceptable. No one has thousands of friends.”

So, fellow BGS-ers, I urge you to mark your calendars for November 17th. Or, of course, you can just ax your fake friends at any time, just like I did now with the girl from above…

9 thoughts on “National Unfriend Day

  1. I know exactly what you are talking about here. I have a solid group of “friends” that when I read their statuses I just question why the hell anyone would actually want to read this or who gives a $#!^. I never talk to these people and I literally have no idea why they share these things online. I am even bothered when I see people “like” these stupid statuses. Here are a few statuses that I just saw posted in the last 24 hours:

    “Always love getting my hair done” – Congrats. Sounds awesome. (2 likes and 1 comment that says “slut”)

    “I don’t know why I watch army wives it makes me cry every time..” – I don’t know why you feel the need to say this. (3 likes)

    “head ache boooo” – Take an Advil…I don’t think staring at a computer screen is going to help your problem.

    “Lets see how this tea with honey and lemons work” – ok. (5 likes)

    I think people need to filter themselves sometimes, and I am really considering the defriending process for those people I never talk to and never have anything entertaining, productive, or interesting to say. The only problem is, if these people become famous, or do something interesting with their lives, I don’t want to be the kid that isn’t “friends” with them or be the last to find out. I guess scrolling through these dumb things is the trade-off the the potential of seeing SOMETHING of interest. I just hope eventually these people take a step back and realize what they are saying is literally pointless.

    • Thanks for the comment Vinny. I am not a big fan of status updates in general (probably haven’t done one in 2 years). However, I can see how they can be funny if they apply or are directed at your friends or family. However, the ones that you and I posted above are clearly meant for just anyone on FB to see..like who feels compelled to post something that is directed at the whole Fb community about dumb shit? I just don’t see the point either.

    • I think FB has a filtering software problem at the core of its business model, not that the world is full of inane people. It always was…

  2. I started to read your post and immediately became distracted in the process of un-friending people. What stuck me was the fact that there is no way to mass un-friend those who you no longer have any connection with or simply do not even remember who they are. I searched Google for some way to do it but, as it turns out, the only service that you could use was “bugged” by Facebook updates and no longer works. For now, I will just have to continue procrastinating.

  3. This post was great…it reminds me of this one girl my sisters and I went to summer camp with 10 years ago and she friended us all on facebook. She is the type of person that updates her status every time she does something but we are all still friends with her on facebook because we love to talk about how awful it is when we are back home together (this girl need to get a twitter or something).

  4. I don’t have a Facebook anymore, but I remember how big of a deal it was when someone was “un-friended”. It’s the same on Twitter now. Unfollowing someone is like a slap in the face. Which I don’t understand. It’s just Twitter…have fun with it. People take social media way too seriously.

  5. But they aren’t my friends. THey are just contacts. I never assumed they were all my friends.
    And you can have 100s or 1000s of contacts or acquaintances. Not that unusual.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

