Aim Higher


Hmmm, where will I be in 10 years?  Gosh, that’s a scary question.  As of this moment ten years is equivalent to half of my lifetime, and A LOT has changed since I was 12.  I guess my hope would be that I am either living in NYC or LA, with a family, and a career in fashion merchandising.  The following is a response to the question: Who are you now in comparison to who you were when you graduated college?

~~~

It’s 6:30am and I have just been jolted from my peaceful slumber by the loud siren that is my alarm clock.  Groggily I turn it off, although I would like to throw it across the room.  What ever happened to the days of “Mom, just five more minutes…”.  I guess that’s what happens when you grow up.  I am now (and have been for the last ten years) a real, live grown-up.  Yes, I was “technically” a grown-up in college, but not really.  Missing class isn’t like missing a day at work and now I have to juggle all of my own responsibilities on top of the responsibilities of my family.  Don’t get me wrong, it has been an incredibly empowering experience; however, I was shaking in my boots when I first took the reins that May of 2013.

Looking back on my life during that period I would have to say that my most significant accomplishment has been the creation of my own boutique retail business.  I have always been interested in fashion and attended a master’s program for design and strategic management just out of college before venturing into the professional world on my own.  While those two years of school were definitely challenging the experiences that I gained by interning at Valentino and Chanel were invaluable.  Armed  with this knowledge I was able to get a buying assistant position for a small line of boutiques located in New York, Los Angeles, Paris, and London.  For those first couple of years, I, like most young professionals just starting out, did not have the most glamorous job.  Yes, I helped pick out clothing that was to be sold in the store, but I also mastered the art of ordering coffee and scheduling appointments.  Hey, everyone’s got to start somewhere right?

Although, after a five at this company I was promoted to head buyer.  This was an enormous accomplishment.  I now had people running my errands (who would’ve thought!) and I was actually able to focus on the more interesting and creative sides of the business.  This is exactly what I had always wanted, to be able to pick out clothes for a living.  However, my ambitious appetite was not yet satiated.  I still longed to do more.  Coming from a long line of entrepreneurs I had always been told that I could do anything as long as I put my mind to it.  When I was a young girl I dreamed of owning my own line of boutiques, just like the one I was working for.  Yes, I was basically doing the same thing types of tasks at my current job but the company wasn’t mine.  It had not been built on my vision.  I found myself feeling stifled and as though there was something missing from my life.  This is when I decided to take my seven years of experience and start my own retail business.

Today, we currently have two locations, one in my home city of NYC and one in Boston.  While both stores are still young they appear to be flourishing and I am hopeful about the future.  Within the next five years we hope to be able to open at least two more locations, one in Los Angeles and one abroad (hopefully Paris!).  This whole experience has been such a journey for me.  I feel so lucky to be able to pursue my passion at this level.

However, my career is not the only thing that has changed since graduation.  Four years ago I married the love of my life.  We currently live in downtown Manhattan with our two dogs, but hopefully we will begin expanding our family very soon.  Both he and I have very busy work lives at the moment, which makes it difficult to contemplate the possibility of adding more responsibility/craziness to our lives.  I also hope to move out of the city and into the suburbs.  Being raised in a small town myself I have always envisioned raising a family in the country.  Don’t get me wrong I LOVE New York, but I don’t think that it is the best environment to raise children.

Well, there you have it, my life current life in a brief blurb.  A lot has changed since I accepted my diploma on May 19, 2013, but at heart I am still the same girl that refuses to take no for an answer.

Photo Credit:

One thought on “Aim Higher

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

